Justin Driver’s Jackson Lecture at Chautauqua Institution

On Monday, July 31, 2023, Justin Driver, Professor of Law at Yale University, was Chautauqua Institution’s 19th annual Robert H. Jackson Lecturer on the Supreme Court of the United States.

To view Professor Driver’s lecture, which focused on the Supreme Court’s June 29 decisions on the constitutionality of racial diversity-seeking affirmative action in college admissions, SFFA v. Harvard University and SFFA v. University of North Carolina, click here:

*             *             *

Justin Driver is the Robert R. Slaughter Professor of Law and Counselor to the Dean at Yale Law School, where he teaches and writes in the area of constitutional law. He is author of the book The Schoolhouse Gate: Public Education, the Supreme Court, and the Battle for the American Mind and many articles in law reviews and general press. For his Yale webpage, click here.

*             *             *

Chautauqua Institution’s Robert H. Jackson Lecture is named in honor of the former Chautauquan, New York State lawyer and national bar leader, New Dealer, U.S. Solicitor General, U.S. Attorney General, U.S. Supreme Court justice, and Nuremberg chief prosecutor of Nazi war criminals.

The annual Jackson Lecture at Chautauqua Institution is a leading expert’s consideration of the Supreme Court, its Justices, significant decisions, and related topics in the weeks following the Court’s start of its annual summer recess.

Chautauqua’s Jackson Lecturers have been:

    • 2005:  Geoffrey R. Stone, University of Chicago professor;
    • 2006:  Linda Greenhouse, New York Times writer and Yale University lecturer and research scholar;
    • 2007:  Seth P. Waxman, WilmerHale partner and former U.S. Solicitor General;
    • 2008:  Jeffrey Toobin, legal analyst and writer;
    • 2009:  Paul D. Clement, Clement & Murphy PLLC partner and former U.S. Solicitor General;
    • 2010:  Jeff Shesol, historian, communications strategist, and former White House speechwriter;
    • 2011:  Dahlia Lithwick, senior editor at Slate;
    • 2012:  Pamela Karlan, Stanford University professor;
    • 2013:  Charles Fried, Harvard University professor and former U.S. Solicitor General;
    • 2014:  Akhil Reed Amar, Yale University professor;
    • 2015:  Laurence H. Tribe, Harvard University professor;
    • 2016:  Tracey L. Meares, Yale University professor;
    • 2017:  Judge Jon O. Newman, of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit;
    • 2018:  Justice Rosalie Silberman Abella, of the Supreme Court of Canada;
    • 2019:  Donald B. Verrilli, Jr., Munger, Tolles & Olson LLP partner and former U.S. Solicitor General;
    • 2020 (online):  Ruth Marcus, Washington Post associate editor and columnist;
    • 2021 (online):  Melissa Murray, New York University professor;
    • 2022: Reva Siegel, Yale University professor; and
    • 2023: Justin Driver, Yale University professor.